gearbox rebuild for vr turbo

Elo vr lovers!

Get straight to the point here, my gearbox needs rebuilding... Im gonna have a go myself (as i am a mechanic and should be doing it! :))

Would tps be best place to buy parts? And if i wanted higher gearing can i do that myself? I would like 6 speed gearbox but not sure what ones fit :S

I'd recommend the 3.68 final drive for the VR box' date=' don't see many 6 speed boxes for the VR these days though! You can get kits, but breath taking expensive. ...

[/quote']

ah ok, would i just ask for 3.68 final drive from tps? this will be my first gearbox rebuild :S im scared haha

Daverse is right, you won't be able get from TPS, you'd need source a box as mentioned. I also took the opertunity to replace my diff rivets with ARP bolts, also got all my bearings and seals from a place in Warwickshire, reasonable price..

It's just the tools and things that's expensive if you have to buy them to do the work, but better if you have access to them at work....

Not sure if their available from tps' date=' iif it is i wouldnt like to imagine the cost. I believe their from G60 gearboxes, look on ebay or your breakers see if you can nab one :)

[/quote']

ahhh no I don't know what to do. you wreckon I should just rebuild my standard one then? so many options on what to do isn't there :)

A 3.68 final drive would shorten the gearing though. To change the crown wheel you'd need to drill out the rivets and replace with ARP studs and nuts. A good excuse to throw a quaife in there!

You can swap gears around from other boxes but personally I'd leave them stock unless you have specific rpm drop requirements.

For 6 speed, your options are:-

6 speed add-on kit from SQS at £1500

02S gearbox from non-turbo MK5 Golf

02M gearbox from 4Motion Golf